Eight candidates, four seats, Election Day Tuesday April 5

Joplin city council elections will be held in 70 days. But today we found out who will be running and who will not. KRPS’s Fred Fletcher-Fierro has more.

Photo by Element5 Digital on Pexels.com

Earlier today, the Joplin city clerk released the list of eight Joplin residents that qualified to run for city council. First, the notable exceptions, Mayor Ryan Stanley and Council Member Anthony Monteleone will not be running for reelection for their two-year general council seats. Although long-time council member Doug Lawson is running to earn reelection for his two-year seat on the council. He joins newcomers Kate Spencer, Brian Evans, Josh Detar, and Jon Buck.

There are three general council, two-year seats open on the Joplin city council. While in Zone Four Diane Reid Adams will seek to defend her two-year seat against newcomer Mark Farnham. Finally, former Mayor of Joplin and long-time council member Gary Shaw will run unopposed for his Zone 1, two-year seat. Election day is Tuesday, April 5. For 89 9 KRPS, I’m Fred Fletcher-Fierro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s